Day: 3 Greg Makes a Good Point

In response to my last post:

Greg Says:
February 7, 2008 at 2:10 pm edit
I think this is unfair, and not in keeping with the blog – one hundred pounds, one month. You’re just sellin’ a big pile of stuff to make it easy!

OK, I agree it makes it all too easy.

There’s 2 options to move forward from here, and I’m going to let you guys pick the scenario. Make your vote in the comments before 5pm tomorrow, and that’s the path I’ll follow.

Scenario A:

I stop selling stuff, and don’t add at all to my budget, and just scrape by till the end of the month. At the end of the month I breathe a big sigh of relief, and start living life again as normal next month, and I kill the blog.

or Scenario B:

I lose the end of the month deadline. I see how far I can go on the £100 I started with, by seeing how much money I can make on the side, by selling stuff if I feel I can do without. Each time I make it to the end of the month, and get paid from my day job, I pay my rent, my phone, the optician’s and the internet, and I stick the rest in a savings account I can’t get at. It’s sort of like a parallel universe where I only make about £400-450 a month (and that all goes on the bills). Everything else I do (food, drink, holidays, seeing friends) I have to try to get by on my wits. This goes on until I have to give up, either because I’m out of money, or I’m sick of it.

Your choice,

Cheers,

Robin

10 responses to “Day: 3 Greg Makes a Good Point

  1. I shall think this one over.

  2. I think you should have a complete rethink. Chuck your current job and just get a paper round…then try and live off that.

  3. That doesn’t sound like such a bad idea… But if you had to state an A or B preference?

  4. Got to be plan B Rodders. This time next year you could be a millionaire. Luvly Jubbly.

  5. B please

  6. I’ll have a consonant please carol! 🙂

  7. Definitely B. The savings will be useful when the Thesis doesn’t quite get done in time… 🙂

  8. Good point Tim. The thesis is probably going to be delayed a bit by all the raking through bins I’m going to be doing, so an extra bit of cash for when the funding runs out would be welcome

  9. Pingback: Day 4: The Rules Have Changed « One Hundred Pounds

Leave a Reply

